Prequel Preproduction

Story boards have been complete for the prequel for a few days now. We wanted to share them to show (not only my horrible art skills) but the processes we complete for this short. It will mirror many of the steps for Last Days.

It started with some brainstorming with a co-worker who wanted to play a part in Revelations. We didn’t have any more parts available at the time (we have added some bit parts since), so we talked it over and a great idea developed. When I was writing notes for the upcoming short film I went sideways on a tangent or two. Those notes ended up being outlines for two more short films that would bookend Last Days.

In the first film, tentatively titled Origins: Sacrifice, I had created a bit character that the lead saves from a warehouse explosion. Strangely enough my mind wandered (imagine that!) and I asked myself what his story was. Those stray thoughts linked into the discussion with my co-worker and the prequel story was born.

It was really inspiring how quickly it fell into place and seemed like a logical piece of the puzzle that was missing. So we riffed on it for a bit and came up with a character we call the Stranger. Simple, but effective and the name, ominous as it might sound, is nothing of the sort. The stranger is a benevolent individual with a troubled past and complicated existence that is tied to the Revelations hero – Bastion.

Check out the storyboards, but gird yourself for the horror of my drawings, and stay tuned for more peeks behind the veil.

About cjensen09

An insightful creative with a wickedly short attention span!

Posted on August 16, 2011, in editing, filming, fun, industry, production. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

