Cold Read

The first of the actors to submit applications for Last Days sent me a video read of Torin’s lines. When he emailed me I checked out his IMDB profile and watched some of his previous work. I enjoyed all of it, but was naturally critical of the director. I think any of us do the same when we watch movies or shows, thinking to ourselves how we would have shot that scene.

The video is very cool. It is a hard feeling to describe as its a mixture of excitement, pride, fear, angst and several other minor flare ups of emotions. The summation of it is a thrill. To watch another person, in this case an actor, speaking lines that you had only previously heard in your mind as you wrote them is exhilarating!

Naturally my critical director eye was twitch as he missed or altered what I would precision as key lines or inflections. He warned me however that it was a cold read and that’s to be expected since he had just received the script. His efforts in making the video are greatly appreciated and provided me with insights I can get no where else.

I learned how long the script will read, where important pauses should be included and what hand gestures enhanced the delivery of a line. Overall, a great experience and it sets this actor ahead of the rest in the selection process.

About cjensen09

An insightful creative with a wickedly short attention span!

Posted on July 31, 2011, in filming, industry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

